MY MOSCOW INITIATION


Image

At midnight on the 18/19 January, I was one of a thousand people who plunged into sub-zero water for the Russian traditional and celebration of the Orthodox holiday of, the Epiphany.

Orthodox Christians believe that this was the day Jesus is believed to have been baptized.The priest blesses the river or a lake and turns the water into holy water. Immersing oneself in it washes away all sins.

I’m not sure about the christian side of this, however I’ve always been an adrenalin junkie. I’ve bungee jumped, river rafted on the Zambezi river and even went into a cage to get close to the great white sharks (I did this with the late Steve Irwin, the crocodile man). So i wasn’t going to miss out on this opportunity to do something completely insane and a great dinner party conversation.

I spend five hours not talking, just zenning myself for this plunge. I didn’t know what to expect and all i knew was i wasn’t going to make an idiot of myself.

LIFE SAVERS ON SIGHT - YOU KNOW IT'S COLD

This plunge in some way connected me to my job, before i was just a new correspondent who no one knew about, but ever since the dip, I have made friends and have even been called BRAVE. I thought my bravery just came from the fact that I moved to this city of extremes.

After coming out of the water, i was exhilarated, a feeling i will never forget. I also became a local hero, swamped by other media agents, camera’s and microphones shoved in my face. It was just all very surreal and unforgettable.

Media On Sight To Capture The Divers

Anyway enough said, take a look if you missed it.

3 comments

  1. alina

    already saw it but now just watched it again! i am so PROUD!!! omg not sure if i could have done that!! miss you darling! xx

  2. This is such a keeper. Every time I see it I get cold shivers, respect. I bet you gained a lot of respect among your colleagues for doing this. I bet some of them would have said “eh, hell no”.

  3. gayletoyouroprah

    Clearly you are more insane that I give you credit for. I see you made sure the ‘hair’ is safe. Lol. Kudos to you friend. I watched it & shivered on your behalf.. Super proud of you.

Leave a Reply

