ELECTION COVERAGE


Starting a new job weighs heavily on any person. You want to do well and prove you were worthy  of the employment contract but also you want to be challenged. Boy was I challenge! I was given the opportunity to be one of the correspondent on election coverage for the 2012 Russian Election, which gave Mr. Putin a win at the Presidency. It was an important milestone for me and it was one of the most daunting tasks I’ve ever had to endure.

I took it within my stride, after all this is what I want to do. One rarely has time to reflect at achievements and I was reminded by the people around me, feedback from mentors, colleagues, friends and management, that I did pretty well. It was a stressful time for me, I had friends visiting and i still had to continue with work and learning all i can about Russian politics.

I was stationed at the second if not biggest opposition party, the Communist party from 7:30 to 3:00 am the next morning, in winter Moscow. But I endured and loved every moment of it. It was a great day for my career, one i will always remember, how i braved Russian politics live, when the world was watching. I hope to get more opportunities like this one.

Thabang Motsei

communist Party Russia  HQ

Leave a Reply

