MY WEEK AS AN ANCHORWOMAN


There’s really not much i can say on this post besides the fact that, I can’t wait to get back on the news desk again. Although my week trial was nothing like “The Legend of Ron Burgundy, or simply Anchorman”, I loved it, learned a lot about myself, about pressure, about being behind the desk, while drinking insane amounts of vitamin C water and taking in the wisdom of my mentors and the hard working but easy nature of my @overnight team. I’m glad there were no dramatic incidents of Ron Burgundy.

It’s a strange thing broadcast journalism, especially TV. I didn’t start out in this career thinking I’d be on TV but I guess my path has always led me back to this medium, whether behind the scenes or in front of the camera.

As a journalists, we’re not suppose to be consumed by how we look etc (gotta love the BBC for this), but hey let’s be real here, the industry I’m in is tough. You gotta be jack of all traits and perfect them. It’s no longer just having one skill, you have to be multi-skilled.

One side of you wants to be the reporter, getting dirty, finding stories, talking to locals and heads of state the stories and another part wants you in studio under the lights, dealing with breaking news, thinking on the spot and dealing with unpredictable interviewees. These are two different skills and they may look easy but are not. Not everyone can be both reporter and presenter.

Some people are strong in one, others both. I suppose what I’m about to say is very narcissistic, but who isn’t in the TV industry anyway, so sue me:-)  I would like to think that I’m good at both and can get even better. I got this job in Moscow to present and my bosses wanted to ease me into things, hence the reporting gig, of which i love my live shots and packages (i get to be a storyteller for 3-5 min). I still sort of had to audition again, this time LIVE (not rehearsals) for the news anchor position. It’s not just looking pretty, i still have to know what’s going on in the world as I may be asked to do Live interviews (on different subjects)and sometimes breaking news. The shift i started with was the overnight shift, not the ideal, but we all have to pay our dues. A week before the elections i was told i had been approved for the news desk and would be starting as soon as April (hopefully). International news is where I want to be and greedy as it may sound, I still would like to be both an anchorwoman and a reporter. I’m challenged by both in different ways.

So here are a few snaps of my week on the news desk and i hope you’ll get to see more of me on RT English.

MAKE UP/ HAIR – I called her PICASSO 🙂

Hair Stylist

They actually did have make up for dark skin – although i did bring my own, just in case 🙂

An Example of Completed Hair and Make Up

Part of the am team, great team, enjoyed every moment with them and can’t wait to get back 🙂

The Studio

Thabang Motsei News Presenter – LIVE

Thabang Motsei News Presenter – LIVE

Thabang Motsei News Presenter – LIVE

Thabang Motsei News Presenter – LIVE

3 comments

  1. I enjoyed the ‘behind the scenes’ feature. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks for providing us with your own “behind the scenes” story, I really enjoyed reading all this.
    Can’t wait to see you again on RT. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing Thabang, beautiful you are ~

Leave a Reply

