DE-PHAZZ THAT!


Thabang Motsei with De-Phazz

De Phazz is a downtempo jazz ensemble integrating modern turntablism and elements of soul, Latin, trip hop and drum and bass into a lounge music sound. De Phazz is led by Pit Baumgartner, a German producer who has varied the lineup of artists for every new album. However Karl Frierson and Pat Appleton have become regulars in the ensemble.(WIKI)

I met up with them in Moscow during their announcement of their tour dates and their upcoming new album. All three musician are successful as independent artists and talking to them you can see how important music is in their lives. They live and breathe making music. I guess it’s true, find something you love and never have to work again. When asked who they would take to a deserted island, all three said they would take each, signs of a healthy and happy relationship.

I’m always intrigued by musicians and i wanted to know what juicy, scandalous thing has ever happened while on stage or on tour. karl continued to tell me of a concert where one of the dancer’s tampons came out during a performance, the tampon got blown into the trumpet on stage and this disgusting image of this tampon continued until Karl was like, OK sorry but we gotta deal with this.I cracked up, I didn’t think the Russian media were amused by that. But press briefings are so boring and why waste time on asking all the interview questions there if you’re doing a one on one. I’m just saying, so I had fun with it. It bought me browny points.

It was the funniest but grossest I’ve heard off but what a great story. I really enjoyed talking to them and I’m afraid the interview was not cut in my liking so the best parts of the interview were cut off, but maybe i can get some of that footage. What you do see is that we had a good rapport during the interview, they cracked me up. They were a delightful bunch 🙂

HERE’S A FAV OF MINE (the kind of song you have your first cuppa to or you want to lounge to with a glass wine in hand)

Leave a Reply

