“HIPSTER” MARKET MOSCOW


Last Sunday I peeled myself from my balcony and crossed the bridge over to the Red October island for the Summer Sunday vintage market. Hipsters and vintage culture is in-vogue in Moscow. You can imagine the outfits that came out and the little knick knacks that turned a simple parking lot into a time capsule of design and fashion.

Although the market was smaller than expected, it did have the pleasing ambience that you get from the likes of Shorteditch and Brick lane and Portobello market. There was everything from handcrafted ornaments and clothes, second hand clothes, vintage clothes and jewellery as well as food and live music. It was a wonderful sunday, buzzing with people and everywhere you looked plastic glasses of Mojito’s or  PIMMS made their rounds and huge straw hats.

We finished the day after being sun-burned and having a drink at the Strelka Bar with amazing views.

A great way to spend an afternoon.

*The market is just next to the  StrelkaBar on the Red October island, opposite Peter the Great Statue. Worth a visit. (thanks to Ivo Pauls for some of the pics)

Anafricaninmoscow

Anafricaninmoscow

These ties are from Cocco Bello Bow Ties. They retail from 400 roubles upwards. You can get hold of them at vk.com/cocco_bello or +7 963 722 04 35 (THEY SPEAK ENGLISH) Great alternative gift idea.
I have a little fetish for ties, i think i will make them my winter signature item!

Anafricaninmoscow
And they said caravans can’t be chic!

Anafricaninmoscow
Minus the werd looking head gear, i would actually wear this outfit:) SIAM SHOP – http://www.siamshop.ru

Anafricaninmoscow

I dream of owning a red vespa and letting the breeze of a summer afternoon take me along an open road with mountains on oe side and the sea on the other. Oh wait, that’s Cape Town!Anafricaninmoscow
Gotta have happiness somewhere. I love seeing my name all over the place *can I be any more vain*

Anafricaninmoscow
I’m Shoe Girl and these are too cute for words.

Anafricaninmoscow
Reminds me of Master and Margarita by Russian writer Mikhail Bulgakov. Anyone fancy a visit form the devil? (I lost the card of the vtntage seller, hope she makes contact:)

Anafricaninmoscow
Unlocking ones…

Anafricaninmoscow
You know I loved this one!

Anafricaninmoscow

I’m totally looking at collecting old furniture, i just love mixing old and new whether in my home or in my attires. It gives it character and individuality. AnafricaninmoscowThe crowd that made the market a buzzing fun day:)

5 comments

  1. ibi

    Looks like my cuppa tea!

  2. Guzel

    Hi!nice article)
    you can also find Cocco bello bow ties on Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/CoccoBelloBowTies

    Best, Guzel

  3. Fancy clothing, I’ve always wanted and love to visit places like these also because the atmosphere is more alive! great post by the way.

Leave a Reply

